margaret coel
about margaret
        Margaret on the Air
        Favorite Books
        Special Events

readers guides

short stories

wind river




Winter's Child

FaceBook Email

Awards for Margaret Coel's Wind River Mystery Series

The Frank Waters Award, 2010

Given by the Friends of the Pike's Peak Library District. "The Frank Waters Award stands for exemplary literary achievement, as well as a canon of writing that communicates a deep understanding, celebration, and love of our human nature and peoples of all races."

Previous award recipients are: Barbara Kingsolver, Tony Hillerman, John Nichols, and Joanne Greenberg.

The High Plains Emeritus Award, 2010

Given for "A lifetime of outstanding work" by the Parmly Billings Library and the High Plains Book Festival to an author who resides in and writes about an area that covers seven Western states and three Canadian provinces. Previous winners include Larry Watson, Gary Ferguson and Louise Erdrich.

Six Colorado Book Awards:

  • The Spirit Woman, 2000.
  • The Shadow Dancer, 2002.
  • Wife of Moon, 2004.
  • Eye of the Wolf, 2005.
  • The Girl with Braided Hair, 2007.
  • Dozen on Denver (anthology of short stories, including "Yellow Roses" by Margaret Coel), 2010.

The Willa (Cather) Award:

  • The Spirit Woman, 2000.


Recent events where Margaret Coel has been the keynote speaker:

  • Tony Hillerman Conference, Albuquerque, NM
  • San Diego Writers Conference
  • Delta Kappa Gamma International Association of Women Educators, annual conference, Fresno, CA
  • Estes Park, CO, annual author's event
  • Oshkosh, WI, library event
  • University of Colorado Law School, fundraising event, Boulder
  • Pikes Peak Library Writer's Conference, Colorado Springs
  • Ring Lake Ranch, Dubois, WY
  • Williamsburg, VA, Library event
  • Pikes Peak Library event
  • Arapaho County Library event
  • Dallas, TX, Library event
  • Tucson, AZ, Library event
  • AAUW Authors Festival, Denver
  • Colorado Independent Publishers Association annual convention, Denver
  • Garden Railroaders International Convention, Denver
  • Garden Railroaders Regional Convention, Austin, TX
  • University of Denver Publishing Institute
  • Colorado State University Authors event
  • IBM
  • Estes Park Annual Library event

Margaret will be the honored guest at Left Coast Crime (Mystery convention), Santa Fe, New Mexico, March, 2011.


The Wind River mystery novels have been selected for the following One-Book programs:

  • The Eagle Catcher, Carbondale, CO
  • The Eagle Catcher, Loveland, CO
  • Killing Raven, Fremont County, WY (includes the Wind River Reservation)
  • Wife of Moon, Niobrara County, WY


Margaret has been an invited author to the following Book Festivals:

  • The National Book Festival, Washington, D.C., 2009.
  • The Virginia Book Festival, 2008.
  • The Tucson Book Festival, 2008 and 2011.
  • The Las Vegas Book Festival, 2010.
  • The High Plains Book Festival, 2011.
  • Los Angeles Book Festival, 2000.