margaret coel
about margaret


readers guides

short stories

        Latest News
        John & Vicky
        Other Stories
        Serial Novel
wind river




Winter's Child

FaceBook Email

John & Vicky Stories

Man Found Dead in Park  NEW!

Available from A.S.A.P. Publishing

The story features my main female characters, Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden and Denver reporter Catherine McLeod, and moves between Denver and the Wind River reservation. Along the way are murders, mystery, some downright scary characters (they even scared me a bit) and quite a few decent folks who see that, in the end, justice is done.

Three of my favorite authors—and favorite people—have contributed to the book: Anne Hillerman wrote the introduction, Keith McCafferty the afterward and Craig Johnson the cover piece. Renowned artist Phil Parks illustrated numerous scenes. And each copy of the Collector's Edition includes an original illustration!

Quite an exciting package from ASAP Publishing, which the LA Times called one of the premier publishers of limited-edition collectible books in the nation. I hope you will enjoy discovering Man Found Dead in Park as much as I enjoyed writing it.

To order your copy call A.S.A.P. Publishing at (949) 455-1319 or email them at


The first anthology of Margaret's short stories, Watching Eagles Soar, is coming out in trade paperback.

When artifacts are stolen from the Arapaho Museum, Father John and Vicky are drawn down a path of two-bit hoodlums, drug dealers, and murder...An allergic reaction lands a young man in the ICU, but his life hinges on solving the mystery of a thirty-year-old murder...Vicky finds herself in a game of cat and mouse with Lonny Hereford, the murderer they call Bad Heart, whom she helped put away three years ago...

Read more here.


Father John O'Malley and Vicky Holden and the Arapahos are featured in a series of short stories, each published as a hardback, illustrated, signed, limited edition book by A.S.A.P. Publishing.

Each story is based on one of the ten Arapaho commandments. The stories are illustrated by nationally-recognized illustrator, Phil Parks, and introductions have been written by well-known mystery writers. Each book is signed by Margaret as well as by the illustrator and the author of the introduction.

Stolen Smoke
My Last Goodbye
Bad Heart
Day of Rest
Dead End
Hole in the Wall
Nobody's Going to Cry
The Woman Who Climbed to the Sky
Whirlwind Woman

Stolen Smoke (First commandment: I am the Lord thy God. Thou shalt not have strange Gods before me.) Introduction by Marcia Muller.

My Last Goodbye (Second commandment: Thou shall not make to thyself any graven image nor the likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, or in the water under the earth; thou shall not bow down nor worship them, for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God.) Introduction by Nancy Pickard.

Bad Heart (Third commandment: Thou shall not take my name in vain.) Introduction by T. Jefferson Parker.

Day of Rest (Fourth commandment: Remember to keep holy the Sabbath Day.) Introduction by C.J. Box.

Honor (Fifth commandment: Honor thy father and thy mother.) Introduction by Jan Burke.

Dead End (Sixth commandment: Thou shalt not kill.) Introduction by James Doss.

Hole in the Wall (Seventh commandment: Thou shalt not commit adultery.) Introduction by Ed Hoch.

Nobody's Going to Cry (Eighth commandment: Thou shalt not steal.) Introduction by Craig Johnson.

The Woman Who Climbed to the Sky (Ninth commandment: Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife—Hana je vinadeen hinenida hineen, nau honoit hedonuinau.) Introduction by Tony Hillerman.

Whirlwind Woman (Tenth commandment: Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Goods.) General introduction to the Arapaho Commandment series by Margaret Coel.

All editions sold out. But they are all included in Watching Eagles Soar!


Otto's Sons (more information coming soon!)

A Well Respected Man, Margaret Coel's short story featuring Vicky Holden, was published in Women Before the Bench, edited by Carolyn Wheat and introduction by Linda Fairstein. This story is also included in The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories, edited by Ed Gorman and Martin H. Greenberg.

The Man in her Dream is included in More Murder, They Wrote, edited by Elizabeth Foxwell and Martin H. Greenberg.