margaret coel
about margaret


readers guides

short stories

        Latest News
        John & Vicky
        Other Stories
        Serial Novel
wind river




Winter's Child

FaceBook Email

Watching Eagles Soar Watching Eagles Soar
Now Available in Trade Paperback!

"Margaret Coel is one of Colorado's most versatile writers...with Watching Eagles Soar, she establishes herself as a master of the short story. These stories are little gems for Coel fans... not only well-crafted but rich in details."
   —The Denver Post

When artifacts are stolen from the Arapaho Museum, Father John and Vicky are drawn down a path of two-bit hoodlums, drug dealers, and murder...An allergic reaction lands a young man in the ICU, but his life hinges on solving the mystery of a thirty-year-old murder...Vicky finds herself in a game of cat and mouse with Lonny Hereford, the murderer they call Bad Heart, whom she helped put away three years ago...

Experience these and other tales of sin, secrets, and retribution. Included in this new trade paperback version of the anthology are:
  • All ten of the Arapaho Commandments short stories, three other Father John-Vicky short stories, and six additional stories for a total of 19 short stories.
  • One novella, "Molly Brown and Cleopatra's Diamond."
  • Two essays on writing and on writing about the West: "Stories in the World" and "The West of Ghosts."
  • Introduction by Craig Johnson, author of the acclaimed Walt Longmire series (now on A&E TV).
  • Afterward by William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author of Vermilion Drift.
  • Jacket Flap essay by Nancy Pickard, author of many acclaimed novels, including the forthcoming The Scent of Rain and Lightning: A Novel.
  • Back Cover essay by Tony Hillerman.

Order online from an independent bookstore via IndieBound, Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

Berkley Trade, July 2013, ISBN-13: 9780425265543