margaret coel
about margaret


readers guides

short stories

        Latest News
        John & Vicky
        Other Stories
        Serial Novel
wind river




Winter's Child

FaceBook Email

Sunken Sailor The Sunken Sailor

During the lull between two world wars, just outside the proper English village of Market Winsome, a weekend house party is being hosted by the Dowager Duchess of Faughstrayne. Her once-magnificent estate, the Castle Crawsbey, may have succumbed to disrepair, but the former chorus girl turned aristocrat still has what it takes to impress her guests-whether they be a London charlady who has a secret past (or does she?) or a wounded vet who can solve crimes (or can he?). Just one rule: don't mention the host's dead husband (five years and still hush-hush) or her missing son (rumored to be in a Patagonian prison but don't take a stab at it), lest you be met with a violet-eyed stare that could positively kill. But what offense was committed by the harmless visitor, American Admiral Cornelius Brandon? A dreadfull one apparently. His body has been discovered at the bottom of the neglected koi pond tied to a submerged statue of Neptune...

And the weekend has only just begun.

So has this ingenious mystery—a literary game of round robin in which fourteen writers, each proficient in the art of crime, have contributed a chapter of their own. What they deliver is a wildly entertaining whodunit with as many dizzying twists, turnabouts, double-crosses, and divergent styles as there are solutions and suspects.

Margaret contributed a chapter to the cheerful mayhem of this new serial novel from Malice Domestic: The Sunken Sailor. Fans of the gentler style of mystery will enjoy this lighthearted romp through the English countryside with fellow contributors Simon Brett, Dorothy Cannell, Margaret Coel, Deborah Crombie, Eileen Dreyer, Carolyn Hart, Edward Marston, Francine Matthews, Sharan Newman, Alexandra Ripley, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith, and Carolyn Wheat.

Edited by Elizabeth Foxwell, with an introduction by Anne Perry.

Berkley Publishing Group ISBN: 0425194280